Mayo vs Roscommon

Mayo vs Roscommon: Mayo tore Roscommon apart with a sensational performance to set up an All-Ireland Senior Football Championship semif-final with Kerry in Croke Park.

Click Here To Watch Now

Mayo vs Roscommon GAA Game

Mayo: David Clarke; Brendan Harrison, Ger Cafferkey, Keith Higgins; Colm Boyle, Chris Barrett, Paddy Durcan; Lee Keegan, Seamus O’Shea; Kevin McLoughlin, Aidan O’Shea, Diarmuid O’Connor; Jason Doherty, Cillian O’Connor, Andy Moran.

Roscommon: Colm Lavin; Sean McDermott, John McManus, David Murray; Niall McInerney, Sean Mullooly, Brian Stack; Fintan Cregg, Enda Smith; Tadhg O’Rourke, Cian Connolly, Conor Devaney; Ciarán Murtagh, Diarmuid Murtagh, Niall Kilroy.

The first major contest of the Connacht championship is upon us, as Roscommon prepare to enter Mayo territory to take on Connacht’s high-flyers. A league title has lifted the Mayo mood since March, with those dreams of finally landing the Holy Grail emerging once again. And yet, Roscommon will be arriving in Castlebar baying for Mayo blood.

McHale Park will be the venue for what is expected to be one of the tightest contests of the Championship so far. The excitement is expected to be building in Castlebar from early on Saturday afternoon as the Mayo faithful welcome their Roscommon counterparts for their side’s first home championship game this summer.

Roscommon haven’t beaten Mayo at MacHale Park in Castlebar since 1986. Moreover, they haven’t beaten their provincial rivals in either league or championship since 2001.

The sides met in January during the league, with Mayo emerging one-point victors in Castlebar on that occasion, before heading on to win the league title in March. Meanwhile, Roscommon were relegated to Division Two after finishing second-last in Division One.

The buzz was real as a Louth supporter at 11:15pm or thereabouts last Sunday week. Having landed home from Wexford just a matter of hours earlier, a groove was made on the couch for The Sunday Game. The done thing after the annual pilgrimage.

The side’s last meeting in the championship was the 2017 All-Ireland quarter-final replay in Croke Park. Back then, Mayo romped to a 22-point victory over their neighbours.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>